Culture

What would you say to being charmed by Liégeois culture? Through its numerous iconic cultural sites, Liège enjoys international reach and, every year, attracts numerous tourists who are captivated by its cultural range.
  • Museum of Walloon Life
  • Museum of Walloon Life
  • Grand Curtius museum
  • Grand Curtius collections
  • Parc de la Boverie - Liège
  • La Boverie museum
  • Aquarium-Museum
  • Aquarium-Museum Liège

Liège, first of all, is an abundant and varied museum-based offer

The Museum of Walloon Life is the most diverse museum of ethnology in Wallonia and offers an original look at Wallonia from the 19th century to the present day.

Le Grand Curtius, an international-standard museum complex, brings together numerous collections. This museum approaches 7,000 years of art and history of the Pays de Liège represented by 5,200 objects presented chronologically and thematically.

Established in the superb Parc de la Boverie, the museum of the same name is home to several permanent collections of the Musée des Beaux-Arts de Liège and also offers several temporary exhibitions that are as exciting as they are diverse.

At the Aquarium-Muséum de Liège, you will wander from room to room among the museum’s 2,500 species, including numerous fish, invertebrates and reptiles.
  • Opéra Royal de Wallonie
  • Opéra Royal de Wallonie
  • Opéra Royal de Wallonie
  • Royal Philharmonic Orchestra of Liège
  • Royal Philharmonic Orchestra of Liège
  • Théâtre de Liège
  • Théâtre de Liège
  • Théâtre de Liège

Liège is also one of the most abundant offers in terms of shows

Make your way to the Opéra Royal de Wallonie, where the architecture, modern and original at once, is sure to captivate you. Equipped with a thrust stage and some of the world’s most high-performing stage machinery, this major seat of Liège culture offers true opera masterpieces.

Music-lovers will be charmed by the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra of Liège. The only symphonic formation in Francophone Belgium, this exceptional building is equipped with a fantastic philharmonic auditorium.

The Théâtre de Liège, for its part, will appeal to the drama enthusiasts among you. Fully renovated and housed in the prestigious Emulation building, this resolutely modern theatre offers a large number of shows.
  • Mirror City
  • Mirror City
  • Mirror City - Liège
  • Mirror City - Liège

The ardent City also has something to offer on the local clubs and culture side

Mirror City, a place of education, debate and culture at the service of citizenship, offers several activities within the walls of the former la Sauvenière baths, a symbolic building.
  •  Le Forum
  •  Le Forum
  • Reflektor Liège
  • Reflektor Liège
  •  The Manège Fonck
  • Centre Culturel des Chiroux

Liège welcomes all audiences, including the 
young people

Although Le Forum - an unmissable cultural venue in the fiery city since 1922 - is still at the top of the bill, Liège's musical offer has diversified in recent years and is particularly aimed at "young people".

Two venues perfectly embody this abundance of choice for the youngsters: La Zone and Le Reflektor. The first, this Liège centre of alternative cultures located in the Outremeuse neighbourhood welcomes a wide variety of international and local musical groups of all styles (rock, hip hop, electro, punk, reggae, ragga), while the second, nestled just a stone's throw from the Carré, offers you the chance to spend an excellent evening to the sound of pop, reggae, jazz or even metal and welcomes all the current groups, from newcomers to international headliners.

The Manège Fonck is a former horse barracks which has now become a concert hall. It is mainly used for the Liège Festival, while the Centre Culturel des Chiroux offers many events including musical shows and is a partner of several festivals.

Culture

Que diriez-vous de vous laisser charmer par la culture liégeoise ? De par ses nombreux sites culturels emblématiques, Liège bénéficie d’un rayonnement international et attire chaque année de nombreux touristes séduits par son offre en la matière.
  • Musée de la Vie wallonne - extérieur
  • Musée de la Vie wallonne - intérieur
  • Musée Grand Curtius - Bâtiment
  • Collections du Grand Curtius
  • Parc de la Boverie - Liège
  • Musée de la Boverie
  • Aquarium-Muséum
  • Aquarium-Museum Liège

Liège, c’est d’abord une offre muséale abondante et variée

Le Musée de la Vie wallonne est le plus riche musée d’ethnologie de Wallonie et propose un regard original sur la Wallonie du 19ème siècle à nos jours.

Le Grand Curtius, ensemble muséal de niveau international, regroupe de nombreuses collections. Ce musée aborde 7000 ans d’art et d’histoire du Pays de Liège représentés par 5200 objets présentés de manière chronologique et thématique.

Implanté dans le superbe Parc de la Boverie, le musée éponyme (ou du même nom) abrite plusieurs collections permanentes du musée des Beaux-Arts de Liège et propose également plusieurs expositions temporaires aussi passionnantes que diversifiées.

A l’Aquarium-Muséum de Liège, vous voguerez de  salle en salle parmi les 2.500 espèces que  compte le musée dont les nombreux poissons, invertébrés et autres reptiles.
  • Opéra Royal de Wallonie-Liège
  • Opéra Royal de Wallonie - Salle
  • Opéra Royal de Wallonie-Liège - Salle de réception
  • Orchestre philharmonique royal de Liège - intérieur
  • Orchestre philharmonique royal de Liège - Spectacle
  • Théâtre de Liège - Façade
  • Théâtre de Liège - Salle de réception
  • Théâtre de Liège - Salle de spectacle

Liège, c’est également une offre des plus riches en matière de spectacles

Rendez-vous à l’Opéra Royal de Wallonie dont l’architecture à la fois moderne et originale ne manquera pas de vous séduire. Doté d’un plateau de scène et d’une machinerie des plus performantes du monde, ce haut lieu de la culture liégeoise propose de véritables chefs-d’œuvre de l’opéra.

Les amateurs de musique seront charmés par l’Orchestre Philharmonique Royal de Liège. Seule formation symphonique de la Belgique francophone, ce bâtiment d’exception est muni d’une fantastique salle philharmonique.

Le Théâtre de Liège attirera, quant à lui, les plus comiques d’entre vous. Entièrement rénové et logé dans le prestigieux bâtiment de l’Emulation, ce théâtre résolument moderne propose bon nombre de représentations.
  • Cité Miroir - Façade
  • La Cité Miroir - Liège - intérieur
  • Cité Miroir - Liège
  • Cité Miroir - intérieur

Côté associatif et culturel local, la Cité Ardente répond également présente

La Cité Miroir, lieu d’éducation, de débat et de culture au service de la citoyenneté vous propose plusieurs activités dans les murs des anciens Bains et Thermes de la Sauvenière, bâtiment symbolique.
  • Forum de Liège
  • Forum de Liège - Salle de spectacle
  • Reflektor Liège
  • Reflektor - Concert
  • Manège de la Caserne Fonck
  • Centre culturel de Liège - Les Chiroux

Liège accueille tous les publics dont les plus jeunes

Si le Forum, lieu culturel incontournable de la Cité Ardente depuis 1922, tient toujours la tête d’affichage, l’offre musicale liégeoise s’est diversifiée ces dernières années et s’adresse notamment davantage aux  « jeunes ».

Deux lieux incarnent parfaitement cette abondance de choix qui s’offre à la jeunesse : La Zone et le Reflektor. Le premier, ce centre liégeois de cultures alternatives situé en Outremeuse, accueille une large variété de groupes musicaux internationaux et locaux de tous styles (rock, hip hop, électro, punk, reggae, ragga) alors que le second niché à deux pas du Carré vous propose de passer une excellente soirée au son de la pop, du reggae, du jazz, ou encore du métal et reçoit tous les groupes actuels, des nouveaux venus aux têtes d'affiche internationales.

Ancienne caserne pour chevaux, le Manège Fonck qui est aujourd’hui devenu une salle de spectacles, est, surtout utilisé dans le cadre du Festival de Liège alors que le Centre culturel des Chiroux propose de nombreux événements dont des spectacles musicaux et est partenaire de plusieurs festivals.