Limbourg, un des Plus Beaux Villages de Wallonie

! COVID-19 measures !
We strongly recommend that you consult the website of this service provider to find out the opening dates, terms and conditions of access to the tourist site.
  • IMG_0542
  • New_site_web_limbourg_2 (1)
IMG_0542New_site_web_limbourg_2 (1)

Near to the Gileppe Dam and the Hertogenwald (forest of the Dukes), Limbourg will not fail to pique visitors' curiosity thanks to how this former stronghold has developed. This countryside town has fully conserved its charm of yesteryear as well as its remarkable architectural heritage.

On arrival at the Place Saint-Georges, now listed as major heritage of Wallonia, visitors cannot fail to be enchanted by the 18th century ambiance as well as the picturesque small streets and square cobbled with pebbles from the River Vesdre.

Furthermore, the 15th-century gothic style Saint Georges Church (currently being restored) is yet another point of interest on the walk which continues along the walls and offers magnificent views over the Vesdre Valley, the Herve plateau and the villages of Bilstain, Dolhain, Goé and The Saint Lambert Church in the village of Goé is also a remarkable site thanks to its 12th-century Romanesque baptismal fonts and its colourful stained glass windows.

The former town hall, called the "Arvô", welcomes tourists and, on its ground floor, there is a display recounting the town's history and a model of Limbourg in 1632, as well as superb fine art exhibitions (from May to September) on the first floor.

The town of Limbourg also boasts a wealth of small well-restored and abundantly flowery houses, as well as marked trails allowing visitors to discover the neighbouring hamlets.

  • Touring languages :
    • French
  • Facilities/Services :
    • Parking
    • Coach park
FaresMinMax
GratuiteFree
Contact
Phone : +3287307926
4830
Limbourg
  • Languages spoken :
    • French

Map

Limbourg, un des Plus Beaux Villages de Wallonie

! Mesures COVID-19 !
Nous vous recommandons vivement de consulter le site internet de ce prestataire afin de prendre connaissance des dates d'ouverture, modalités et conditions d'accès au site.
  • Limbourg Place Saint-Georges
  • New_site_web_limbourg_2 (1)
Limbourg Place Saint-GeorgesNew_site_web_limbourg_2 (1)

A proximité du Barrage de la Gileppe et de l'Hertogenwald, Limbourg s'offre à la curiosité du visiteur au travers de son urbanisation d'ancienne place forte. Cette ville à la campagne a conservé tout son charme d'antan et un patrimoine architectural remarquable.

En arrivant sur la place Saint-Georges, désormais classée patrimoine majeur de Wallonie, on se laisse envoûter par l'atmosphère du 18ème siècle ainsi que par les ruelles pittoresques et sa place recouverte de galets de la Vesdre.

De plus, l'Eglise Saint-Georges (actuellement en restauration), de style gothique du 15ème siècle, ajoute à l'intér êt de la promenade qui se prolonge le long des remparts et offre de magnifiques perspectives sur la vallée de la Vesdre, le plateau de Herve et les villages de Bilstain, Dolhain, Goé et Hévremont. L'Eglise Saint-Lambert du village de Goé est également remarquable par sa cuve baptismale romane du 12ème siècle et ses vitraux colorés.

L'ancienne Maison de Ville, appelée "Arvô", accueille le touriste et présente au rez-de-chaussée une salle historique et une maquette de Limbourg en 1632 ainsi que de superbes expositions d'arts plastiques (de mai à septembre) au premier étage.

La ville de Limbourg, c'est également des petites maisons bien restaurées et abondamment fleuries ainsi que des promenades balisées et tracées permettant aux visiteurs de découvrir les hameaux avoisinants.

  • Langues de visite :
    • Français
  • Équipements/Services :
    • Parking
    • Parking Autocars
TarifsMinMax
GratuiteGratuit
Coordonnées :
Tél : +3287307926
Adresse :
4830
Limbourg
  • Langues parlées :
    • Français

Carte